Carabao Cup first round draw


Source of the article

Manchester United beat Southampton 3-2 to win last season’s League Cup final.

The draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup — formerly known as the EFL Cup, won by Manchester United last season — will take place at around 1 p.m. BST, 8 a.m. ET on Friday, June 16.

The draw is being made in Bangkok, after the¬†Thailand-based energy drinks brand Carabao signed an ¬£18 million, three-year deal with the EFL to become the competition’s title sponsor last year.

The first round does not feature Premier League teams, most of which enter in the second round. The seven teams in European competition — Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Manchester United and Everton — first play in the third round.

First round ties to be played the week of August 7:

Follow @ESPNFC on Twitter to keep up with the latest football updates.

Source of the article